Becoming a Therapist
How to Become a Massage Therapist in Irvine, CA
Looking to become a massage therapist in Irvine, CA but don’t know where to start?
The first thing to understand is that every state is different when it comes to regulating the massage industry. For example, in California, there is no licensing involved. Instead, there is certification. These terms are not interchangeable and are in fact quite different.
Also, every county has its own rules. In Orange County where Irvine is situated, certification is just one of the minimum requirements that need to be completed in order to legally perform massage therapy.
The Difference Between a License and Certification
A license is something that is mandated and run by the State. In the 40+ states that issue licenses for massage therapy, any person who wants to be a masseuse is required by law to be licensed.
A certification is voluntary. In California, certifications are run by the California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC). This is a private, non-profit board that oversees certification throughout the state. It is not required by the state for a massage therapist to be certified. That being said, it is required in Orange County that all massage therapists are to be certified.
4 Steps to Becoming Certified
- The first step to becoming certified is meeting the minimum age requirement of 18 years old.
- Next, you must complete 500 hours of massage education from a CAMTC certified school. There is a minimum requirement of 100 hours for certain classes including Health and Hygiene, Anatomy and Physiology, Business and Ethics, and Contraindications.
- After completing your hours, you must undergo a background check using a fingerprint scan.
- And finally, you need to complete the CAMTC application and pay the fees for the application and certification. This costs $200. This certification will only last for 2 years. You must re-certify if you want to continue working after your 2 years are up.
Specific Rules to Orange County
Your road to becoming a massage therapist in Irvine, CA doesn’t stop at a CAMTC certification.
You also need to file an application with the sheriff’s office. Once the application is complete, you will have to pay a filing fee. This is followed by an investigation conducted by the sheriff.
On the application, you need to include the name and address of where you intend to work. You also need to supply the names of 3 US citizens who can vouch for your good moral character. The sheriff’s office prefers that these citizens be residents of Orange County.
It is also required that you pass a written exam. This is administered by the Sheriff’s office. After passing the exam, you will receive your massage technician permit.
It is also good to note that it is illegal in Orange County to perform off-premises massages without first obtaining a massage technician permit.
Want More Massage Therapy Tips?
All of our massage therapists are fully certified. And we offer a variety of massage options. Get in touch with us today to learn more!
Ask a question or book an appointment below.